RSS

Oh , how careful we must be on the Internet. What will they think of me?

15 Feb

Oh , how careful we must be on the Internet. What will they think of me?

Note : This blog may contain photos that you do not want to see. On the other side, I am confronted often with photos and messages that I find disgusting or upsetting . So it is your choice to read or to step away.

I notice more and more that it annoys me that I have to consider whether I can or cannot post things on facebook or other places online. When it comes to spoken or written statements, it is easier for me considering I simply don’t want to hurt anyone. But when it comes to posting pictures, I find it a lot harder. Nowadays you will be googled, your facebook is viewed, potential future employers will look at you before they invite you for an interview. One judges you because of the photos you share with the outside world. The moment I want to post something, I will be wondering about how someone else thinks about it while I really should stay close to myself and should disregard what others think of it. After all, every image can be interpreted in different ways, it is in the eye of the beholder to which side he or she is going. Do I have to be careful because a potential employer might dismiss me because I have a private life? Is it not a private life for a reason? Or should I be okay with it if they reject me for who I am? Should I feel sad if they reject me because I like to do things I do? What is more important? To stick to who you are or to let go because someone might have an opinion about it?
Do you form an opinion on an image or will you ask me why I do the things I do? Will you judge or you can see that I ‘m more than what the picture portrays?

SONY DSC
Crochet and knitting, how can you be so boring? Like an old woman sitting down with your handiwork, not much of an interesting person… Or can you see someone with some skills in her hands, can you see someone who is pleased when she is productive?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The boozer, must certainly be one of those girls that get drunk every weekend. Someone that probably will not get much out of her hands on Mondays and has hangovers at work. Or do you see someone who likes to go out sometimes, has fun, and has some social skills?

WoWScrnShot_012612_143439
World of Warcraft, of course a game addiction. After all, all of those types are addicted. They never leave the computer and have no life whatsoever. Or can you see someone who enjoys a game that she plays with other people. Real live actual people who, like everybody else, have a job, a marriage, etc. People with whom she is having fun, with whom she has competitions with or teams up with, people who take the time to help if you can’t do something on your own?

van straten fotografie
Costume parties, she must be out of her mind. Walking around in that dress the whole day. Maybe she thinks she is living in the wrong era? Or can you see someone who is proficient with a sewing machine, who has been creative in designing a dress? Who is hanging out with people that appreciate that and share the same interests? Could it be that you understand that there is a certain pride in making such a costume and that you want to show it? Where the months of work will be rewarded with people who ask you please to pose for the camera?

Oh , how long I doubted to censor the next picture because it will most certainly establish an opinion with some people and some must be shocked. But if I do censor I am passing my own point… Is she an exhibitionist? Does she enjoy being the center of attention so much that she takes off her clothes? Does she think she is still 20 years old?
_OWL2876
Or do you see someone that tries , in her own way, to help her husband ‘s photography skills (by posing for a professional photographer who is so generous to share his knowledge of photography with him)? Someone who is trying to push her boundaries? A woman who wants to gain experience and confidence? A girl who likes to have some confirmation about her looks and feel less insecure?

Do you have an opinion? Do you judge me for what I like to do? In all honesty, I do care. And I wish I didn’t…

O, hoe voorzichtig we moeten zijn met internet. Wat zullen ze wel niet van me denken?

Note: Deze blog bevat wellicht foto’s die je niet wilt zien, anderzijds word ik ook geregeld om mijn oren geslagen met foto’s en berichten die ik naar of walgelijk vind. Maar aan jou zelf de keus om verder te lezen of om dit niet te doen.

Ik merk steeds vaker dat ik me er aan erger dat ik steeds moet overwegen of ik iets wel of niet kan posten op facebook of dat ik dingen wel of niet kan zeggen. Qua uitlatingen is het voor mij wat gemakkelijker gezien ik de simpele regel heb niemand te willen kwetsen. Maar wanneer het gaat om het plaatsen van foto’s vind ik het een stuk lastiger. Tegenwoordig wordt je gegoogled, je facebook wordt bekeken, potentiële toekomstige werkgevers zullen naar je zoeken voordat ze je uitnodigen voor een sollicitatiegesprek. Men oordeelt over je, of veroordeeld je, om de foto’s die je deelt met de buitenwereld. Op het moment dat ik iets wil posten vraag ik me steeds maar af hoe een ander daar wel niet over zou denken. Terwijl ik eigenlijk dicht bij mezelf zou moeten blijven en maling zou moeten hebben aan wat een ander daar van vindt. Ten slotte kunnen alle foto’s op verschillende wijze geïnterpreteerd worden, het is aan degene die ze bekijkt welke kant hij of zij hiermee opgaat. Moet ik voorzichtig zijn omdat een werkgever mij misschien zal afwijzen om mijn privéleven? Is het niet voor niets een privéleven? Of moet ik het juist niet erg vinden als ze mij afwijzen om wie ik ben, zou ik rouwig moeten zijn als ze mij afwijzen omdat ik de dingen leuk vind die ik doe? Wat is belangrijker? Vast houden aan wie je bent of loslaten omdat een ander er een mening over heeft?
Vorm jij een oordeel bij een beeld of zal je me vragen waarom ik de dingen doe die ik doe? Geef je me een stempel of kun je inzien dat ik meer ben dan wat die foto uitbeeld?

SONY DSC
Haken en breien, hoe burgerlijk kun je zijn? Als een oude vrouw op de bank gaan zitten met je handwerk, dat is allesbehalve stoer! Of zie je iemand die met plezier bezig is met haar handen, iemand die graag productief is?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
De zuipschuit, dat is er zeker één die zich elk weekend onder de tafel zuipt, iemand die ’s maandags waarschijnlijk niet veel uit handen krijgt en op het werk uitkatert. Of zie je iemand die graag uitgaat en plezier heeft, en sociale vaardigheden heeft?

WoWScrnShot_012612_143439
World of Warcraft, gameverslaafd, dat zijn die types immers allemaal. Komen niet achter de computer vandaan en hebben voor de rest geen leven. Of zie je iemand die plezier heeft in een spel dat ze samen speelt met mensen. Echte levende mensen die ook gewoon een baan hebben, een huwelijk. Mensen met wie je plezier hebt, met wie je wedstrijden houdt of juist samenwerkt, die de tijd voor je nemen om je te helpen als iets alleen niet lukt?.

van straten fotografie
Verkleedpartijen, die is niet goed bij haar hoofd. En dat loopt een hele dag rond in zo’n jurk. Wellicht waant ze zich in het verkeerde tijdperk? Of zie je iemand die kundig is met de naaimachine, die creatief is geweest in het ontwerpen van zo’n jurk en mensen opzoekt die dit waarderen en dezelfde interesses hebben? Kan het zijn dat je begrijpt dat er een bepaalde trots gaat uit het maken van zo’n kostuum en dat je dat graag wilt laten zien? Dat het maandenlange werk wordt beloond met mensen die vragen of je alsjeblieft voor de camera wilt poseren?

O, wat heb ik overwogen om de volgende foto te censureren want men zal vast een mening hebben en geshockeerd zijn. Maar als ik dat doe ga ik mijn eigen punt voorbij… Is ze een exhibistionist? Staat ze zo graag in het middelpunt van de aandacht dat ze uit haar kleren gaat? Denkt ze dat ze nog 20 jaar oud is?
_OWL2876
Of zie je iemand die op haar manier helpt om haar man’s fotografie vaardigen verder te ontwikkelen (door te poseren bij een professionele fotograaf die zo gul is om hem meer kennis van fotografie bij te brengen)? Iemand die haar grenzen probeert te verleggen? Een ervaring wil opdoen en zelfverzekerd genoeg is om dat aan te durven?
Heb jij een oordeel, of wil je me veroordelen om dat wat ik leuk vind om te doen? Eerlijk is eerlijk, het kan me wel schelen. Maar dat zou niet zo moeten zijn…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 15, 2014 in I never said I'm perfect, pieces of me

 

Leave a Reply

 
